HTC Executive Board Meeting


20 December 2011


Board Members Present:  David Purinton (President), Harold Tinsley (VP – Communications), Jim Oaks (VP – Programs), Eric Fritz (VP – Races & Equipment), Joey Butler (Secretary), Kathy Youngren (Treasurer), Suzanne Taylor (Appointed Member – Co- Rocket City Marathon Director), Dink Taylor (Appointed Member – Co-Cotton Row Director), and Craig Armstrong (Appointed Member – Past Board Member)


The Huntsville Track Club held an executive board meeting on December 20, 2011 at the Lodge at Southwood Presbyterian Church.  David opened the meeting at 6:30 pm.


The meeting began with a marathon report from Suzanne. 


David noted that the club is still looking for a race director for the A&M 10K.  A previous candidate is no longer available so the board is still looking for a volunteer.


Next topic was the Cookie Dash.  Southwood Presbyterian Church will not be the sponsor this year.  Also, Clare Purinton has stepped down as race director after doing a fantastic job for many years.  Board talked about potential race directors.  Carol Eaton will be the race director for 2012.  Board is looking at options for the racecourse – whether to use same course as last year or change to a new venue.  No decision was made at this meeting.  The board and race director will look at options and make that decision ASAP.


Lastly, the board had a brief discussion about the website and an electronic newsletter. 


With no other business, the meeting adjourned at 7:45.