HTC Awards Banquet - 22 November 2005

Board Members Present:David Purinton (President), Kathy Youngren (Treasurer), Harold Tinsley (VP-Communications), Anne Park (Secretary), Jim Oaks (Appointed MemberóCotton Row Director), Suzanne Taylor (Appointed MemberóRocket City Marathon Director), Craig Armstrong (Appointed MemberóPast Officer), Ashley Cain (VP-Programs), Dick Franklin (VP-Races & Equipment).


Also present were approximately 70 Huntsville Track Club Members.


The Huntsville Track Club Awards Banquet was held at the Lodge at Monte Sano in Huntsville, Alabama, on November 22, 2005, at 6:00 p.m. The meeting opened at 6:55 by the president, David Purinton, and after a few words of welcome the following 2005 Annual Awards were presented:


Service Award - Fleet Feet Sports, presented by Craig Armstrong

Appreciation Award - UAH Facilities, presented by Ashley Cain

Female Outstanding HTC High School Cross Country Runner Award - Gwen Kyser, presented by Jim Oaks

Male Outstanding HTC High School Cross Country Runner Award - Mark Temple, presented by Jim Oaks

Admiration Award - Cindy Hallman, presented by Harold Tinsley

Tom Bolt (President's) Award - Craig Armstrong, presented by David Purinton

Male Performance Award - Dink Taylor, presented by Suzanne Taylor

Female Performance Award - Candace Jacobs, presented by Kathy Youngren

Dedication Award - Diann Tolbert, presented by Jim Oaks

Comeback Award - Grady Edwards, presented by Jim Oaks

Norman Harris Achievement Award - Tab Barnett, writen by Beth Benefield, presented by Craig Armstrong

Browning Ross Spirit of the RRCA Award Nominee - Harold Tinsley, presented by David Purinton

RRCA Rod Steel Outstanding Volunteer Award Nominee - Suzanne Taylor, presented by David Purinton

HTC Best T-Shirt Award - Cotton Row Run Shirt, presented by David Purinton


DeWayne Satterfield then presented the Grand Prix Awards to the Male and Female Overall winners and Male and Female Masters winners, Donald Bowman, Candace Jacobs, Marty Clarke, and Gail Whelan, respectively.


David expressed our thanks to all the volunteers and runners who supported our HTC races in 2005.A special thank you was also expressed to Ashley Cain for her planning and hard work involving the awards dinner and to Clare Purinton for arranging for all the awards.David also encouraged everyone to attend the January business meeting to participate in the voting in of officers for 2006-2007.The meeting adjourned at 8:10 p.m.