HTC Awards Banquet - 15 November 2004


Board Members Present:David Purinton (President), Ashley Cain (VP-Programs), Harold Tinsley (VP-Communications), Kathy Youngren (Treasurer), Anne Park (Secretary), Jim Oaks (Appointed MemberóCotton Row Director), Craig Armstrong (Appointed MemberóPast Officer).


Board Members Absent:Dick Franklin (VP-Races & Equipment), Malcolm Gillis (Appointed MemberóRocket City Marathon Director).

Also present were approximately 100 Huntsville Track Club Members.


A general meeting of the Huntsville Track Club was held at the Lodge at Monte Sano at 6:00 p.m. for the purpose of presenting the following 2004 Annual Awards:


Service Award - Papa John Pizza

Appreciation Award - Southwood Presbyterian Church

Tom Bolt (President's) Award - Beth Benefield

Dedication Award - Valerie Connaughton

Admiration Award - DeWayne Satterfield

Norman Harris Achievement Award - Dink & Suzanne Taylor

Media Award - Bruce McLellan

Female Outstanding HTC High School Cross Country Runner Award - Gwen Kyser

Male Outstanding HTC High School Cross Country Runner Award - Mark Temple

Female Performance Award - Katie Maehlmann

Male Performance Award - James Howell

Honorary Lifetime Member - Earl Jacoby


Members present voted for their favorite T-Shirt, and the Mountain Mist Trail Run shirt received the most votes.


DeWayne Satterfield presented the Grand Prix Awards to the Male and Female Overall winners and Male and Female Masters winners, Donald Bowman, Katie Maehlmann, Marty Clarke, and Gail Whelan, respectively.


David expressed our thanks to all the volunteers who helped make so many races possible throughout 2004.A special thank you and round of applause was expressed to Ashley Cain for her planning and hard work which resulted in a very delightful evening for the club.Jim Oaks, on behalf of the club membership, also expressed appreciation to David Purinton for the excellent job he has done as HTC president for the past seven years and now entering the second half of his fourth 2-year term. The meeting adjourned at 8:15 p.m.