HTC Awards Banquet - 13 November 2007

Board Members Present:  David Purinton (President), Ashley Cain (VP-Programs), Anne Park (Secretary), Dink Taylor (Appointed Member—Co-Cotton Row Run Director), Harold Tinsley (VP-Communications), Craig Armstrong (VP-Races & Equipment), Satterfield, (Appointed Member—Past Officer)


Also present were approximately 80 Huntsville Track Club Members and guests.


The Huntsville Track Club Awards Banquet was held at the Lodge at Monte Sano in Huntsville, Alabama, on November 13, 2007, at 6:00 p.m. The meeting opened at 7:00 by president, David Purinton, with words of welcome to all members and guests in attendance.  David expressed special thanks to Clare for her many trips to ensure that all plaques were prepared correctly, and to Ashley Cain for all the work involved in organizing the banquet.


The following 2007 Annual Awards were presented:


Media Award: Channel 48, presented by Jim Oaks

Service Award: Coca Cola, presented by Dink Taylor

Appreciation Award: Lou Hovatter, written by Suzanne Taylor, presented by Craig Armstrong

Admiration Award: Loyd Doering, written by Suzanne Taylor, presented by Ashley Cain

Dedication Award: Randy McFarland, presented by Dink Taylor

High School Athletes – Introduced by Jim Oaks as follows:

Male Outstanding HTC High School Cross Country Runner: Keith Buell, presented by the 2006 winner, Mark Temple

Female Outstanding HTC High School Cross Country Runner: Alissa Fisher, presented by the 2006 winner, Gwen Kyser

Tom Bolt President’s Award: Marty Clarke, presented by David Purinton

Norm Harris Achievement Award: David Purinton, presented by Craig Armstrong

RRCA Rod Steele Outstanding Volunteer Award: Carl Smith, presented by David Purinton

Browning Ross Spirit of the RRCA Award Nominee: Jeff Kyser, presented by David Purinton

Male Performance Award: George DeWitt, presented by DeWayne Satterfield

Female Performance Award: Cathy Henry, presented by Anne Park


David Purinton announced the winner of the HTC Best T-Shirt Award as being the Monte Sano 15k.


DeWayne Satterfield presented the following Grand Prix Awards:

Male Overall: Donald Bowman, David Purinton, and Jason Reneau

Female Overall: Brooke Pruitt and Gwen Kyser

Masters Male: Marty Clarke and Conrad Meyer

Masters Female: Jennie Rountree

Male Grandmasters: Joe Francica and Richard Rodenhausen

Female Grandmasters: Cathy Henry


David then introduced Harold Tinsley, who presented an HTC Lifetime Member Award to Jim Oaks.


David closed the meeting after again thanking Ashley for her planning and hard work involving the awards dinner and encouraging all HTC members to attend the Annual Business Meeting and Election of officers on January 15, 2008.  The meeting adjourned at 9:00 p.m.